This much-in-demand revoke feature allows users to delete messages for everyone which have been sent to an individual chat or a group.
WhatsApp has rolled out its most anticipated “Delete for Everyone” feature starting today. Prior to the official rollout, this feature was tested on a limited number of users last week. Android, iPhone and Windows phones users as well as desktop users with the latest version of WhatsApp will get the feature. according to the Facebook-owned service.
This much-in-demand revoke feature allows users to delete messages for everyone which have been sent to an individual chat or a group. Commenting on the usefulness of this feature the micro-blogging platform stated, “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.”
In October, WhatApp had launched live location sharing, which allows you to share dynamic, real-time updates of your location, even when the app is running in the background.
However, an important thing to keep in mind while using the “Delete for Everyone” feature is that you can delete messages for only up to seven minutes after sending them. In other words, this feature will be applicable only if the user happens to be quick enough. Also, “If you or your recipient are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported,” the instant messaging service clarifies.
Due to the inclusion of this new feature, users can now get three options when they click the delete icon. These options are “Delete for Me”, “Cancel” and “Delete for Everyone.” When you want to delete the message from both your and the receiver’s chats you should choose the select “Delete for Everyone” option. On the contrary, when you click on the “Delete for Me” option, the message will be deleted only for the sender. And, after deleting this message, both you and the receiver of your message will receive a message saying, “this message was deleted.”